Weekend Work and Wonder

photo 3 (4)

Ahhh…the weekend has arrived. Time for Saturday morning cartoons and eating breakfast with my kids. Then, I typically check my messages, catch #satchatwc on Twitter, and prepare to go out for a run before college basketball or football brings our living room to life. Weekends are family time–a time for play.

photo (10)photo (11)

Therefore, I give little homework over the weekend. If anything, I set direction for the following week, possibly providing a teaser to build anticipation and a reason to return to class. Students may use the time to read for pleasure or increase their understanding of what we covered throughout the week.

I do not use weekends to recover from a long week; I use them to plan for the next week. Although that mentality does not sound very fun, I ease my active mind by taking time in advance to get organized. We can all agree: there’s simply not enough time during the week to accomplish everything we want. So, I do as much front-loading as possible. I try to catch up on providing feedback to students, plan differentiated lessons as necessary, and monitor student progress. By Monday morning, I want to see the big picture for the week. That being said, it is impossible to plan every day in advance without student contact–an inflexible trap many teachers fall into.

photo (8)photo (7)

Holidays are a little different. Extended vacations are a time to catch up on things I want to do, like reading and writing and taking family adventures. These are additional opportunities to learn and expand our life experiences, which enriches our education. We can travel, shop, explore, laugh, and grow. This is what life is all about.

photo (9)

*Day 27 of the TeachThought #reflectiveteacher 30-day blogging challenge

Leave a Reply

